The World As Reesie sees it

February 9, 2008

Damn if she didn’t get me thinking . . .

Filed under: Blogging,Gratitude,My Crazy Life — by reesiesworld @ 10:05 pm
Tags: , , ,

One of my blogging heroines, Jessica over at Oh The Joys, posted about her relationship with her sister-in-law. Jessica is known for her humor, sarcasm and quick wit. This post was one of her rare serious posts. It was honest and heartfelt and it struck a chord with me.

See, I am the SIL. NO!, not Jessica’s sister-in-law (although how cool would THAT be? ah Internet lurve ain’t it grand??).

Anyway, we moved to our current geographical location to be closer to family. My husband’s family to be exact. They all live within about 20 minutes of us.

We live right next door to my Mother-In-Law and her husband and I am proud to say that I am very close to my MIL. My SIL? Not so much. We get along, but we are not close. Our interests are different as are our outlooks on life. Jessica’s post reminded me that she’s family. A family I am extremely grateful to be part of.

I am an only child and my parents split when I was three. My extended family is scattered from Arizona to New Jersey and from Massachusetts to Florida. I have friends to whom I am closer than my blood relatives. Not my husband, his best friend is his cousin. They all grew up together and while they all lead different lives and give each other rashers of sh*t, the reality is they would do anything for each other. Part of the lure of moving here was for my children to experience that kind of family connection.

My MIL & FIL are ducking the nasty winter and traipsing around the Southland. After reading Jessica’s post, it struck me I had no clue how my SIL and her family were. Did my nephew get a job? Has he finished his college applications?

I love my MIL, but the reality is she won’t be around forever and I’d hate to think that this family thing will disintegrate when she and her sister (they are co-matriarchs) pass on. I don’t need to be the matriarch for future generations, but I want to be a part of keeping us together.

I picked up the phone and invited SIL her SO and my nephew for dinner tomorrow night. They have plans, but those plans may fall through due to weather concerns, so she’s going to call me tomorrow. If we don’t do it tomorrow, I have it in my head to get together soon.

I’m glad I called.

Thanks Jessica (and Jane)

1 Comment »

  1. No, thank you. Your response is an honor to me. xo, J

    Comment by Oh, The Joys — February 9, 2008 @ 11:13 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Toni Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

